Bruit Clair Records

Mathias Delplanque

Mathias Delplanque

Mathias Delplanque (born in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso in 1973) is a composer, a performer, an improviser, a music critic, an author of sound installations, a teacher, a composer for theater and dance and the founding member of several musical ensembles. He lives and works in Nantes (France).

His work as a composer started in 1998 as he graduated from the Fine Arts School and decided to put an end to his sculpture activity to turn towards sound creation. He since released more than twenty records on various international labels. He collaborated with musicians from various points of the musical spectrum, and worked with numerous visual artists, writers, videasts, photographers, film directors, dancers… His installation works are frequently shown in galleries and art centers, and he regularly performs on stage, solo or accompanied by other musicians.

Mathias's sound work takes on several main lines and develops through different identities. As Lena, he produces a kind of clubby electronic music strongly influenced by jamaïcan music and Berlin dubby techno. The works done under his own name (developed on records, performances or sound installations, and being either based on field recordings or containing instrumental parts) all directly deal with the question of the relation between space and music : music as architecture, spaces made out of sound etc… Initially a pure sequenced studio production, Mathias’s music transformed with the years into a more improvised and flexible creation. Showing a real interest in live electronic music, he developped a very personal approach of electronic improvisation, based on the use of multiple controlers that engage the body in the production of electronic performances. His live creations generally combine electronic sounds and acoustic instruments treated and sampled in real time.

Mathias Delplanque won several grants (Cultures France, CNC, DRAC Pays de La Loire, Franco-American Jazz Exchange, French Embassy in India…), and made several artistic residencies in various countries (France, Canada, India, USA…).

He runs the label Bruit Clair, dedicated to electronic music and sound art.

Photo © John Sellekaers


On Bruit Clair

  • Mathias Delplanque : Aspics (Bruit Clair, 2020)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Paliers (Bruit Clair, 2018)
  • Mathias Delplanque : BLEU remix (Bruit Clair, 2018)
  • Mathias Delplanque : De sous la futaie au sortir du taillis (Bruit Clair, 2017)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Pink Floyd's "Wish you were here" (Bruit Clair, 2016)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Parcelles 1-10 (Bruit Clair, 2010)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Passeports (Bruit Clair / Cronica Electronica, 2010)

On other labels

Solo albums

  • Mathias Delplanque : Témoins (Cronica Electronica, POR, 2018)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Drachen (Mind Travels, FR, 2015)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Transmission (Cronica Electronica, POR, 2014)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Chutes (Baskaru, FR, 2012)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Ma chambre quand je n’y suis pas (Paris) (Taâlem, FR, 2009)
  • Mathias Delplanque : La Plinthe (Optical Sound, FR, 2008)
  • Mathias Delplanque : L’Inondation (Mystery Sea, BE, 2008)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Pages (Oceanik Creations, FR, 2008)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Le Pavillon Témoin (Low Impedance Records, GR, 2007)
  • Mathias Delplanque : SOL (Insubordinations, CH, 2007)
  • Mathias Delplanque : Ma chambre quand je n’y suis pas (Montreal) (Mondes Elliptiques, CA, 2006)
  • Bidlo : Bilder (Harmsonic, GB, 2000)
  • Bidlo : Journées Portes Ouvertes (Harmsonic, GB, 2000)

Collective works & collaborations

  • PLY : Rend-toi (Warm, FR, 2018)
  • PLY : Cluzel (Warm, FR, 2018)
  • KEDA : Live @ Cosmopolis (Parenthèses, BE, 2018)
  • Foch / Delplanque : Secret (Parenthèses, BE, 2017)
  • PLY : Sans Cesse (Warm, FR, 2016)
  • KEDA: Hwal (Parenthèses, BE, 2016)
  • Delplanque / Oldman : Chapelle de l’Oratoire (Public Eysore, USA, 2009)
  • The Missing Ensemble : Zeropolis (in collaboration with John Sellekaers and Daniel De Los Santos) (Low Impedance Recordings, GR, 2007)
  • The Missing Ensemble : Hidden Doors (Mondes Elliptiques, CA, 2006)
  • Mathias Delplanque & Charlélie Couture : Je meurs d’en vie and Gangsters, released on Charlélie Couture’s album Double Vue (Wagram, FR, 2004)

Remixes & Covers

  • Laurent de Wilde / Otisto 23 : Shoot the tourists first (Eternal Tourist Stensil Remix), released on PC Pieces remixed by friends (DTC Records, 2008)
  • Stensil : Basso Pomade (Dogs Licking My Heart), released on Next to nothing, a compilation of Tuxedomoon covers (Optical Sounds, 2006)
  • dDamage : Insects R Human (Bidlo Remix), released on Bucoliques 2 (Arbouse Recordings, 2004)
  • Hopen : I saw your ghost (Mathias Delplanque remix), released on We are singing for hurrays (Arbouse Recordings, 2004)